Once you open your survey to participants, your ideas list may soon look like this:
Why does Rocky Road have a delete button (trash can) next to it but the other ideas do not?
Once an idea receives votes it cannot be removed. In this example case, participants have not yet seen Rocky Road. Once they do, the delete button will disappear. In addition to delete, you cannot move an idea into the suggestions queue once it receives votes.
You can edit an idea's label whether it has votes or not. Click the pencil icon next to an idea to edit its label.